Rugby League Sport

National Championships Set

The 2016 National Confederate Rugby League Championships are set for next week. The Championships will be held from Wednesday, August 31 to Saturday, September 3 at the Lae Rugby League ground, and the Sir Ignatius Kilage Stadium.

Four confederates – Southern, Highlands, Islands and Northern – will have teams in the schoolboys Under 16 and Under 18, Under 20, women’s and seniors. The women’s and Under 20’s will play on Thursday September 1st.

The men’s competition kicks off on Friday and runs over 2 days. Reigning confederate champions Northern take on Southern in the second game on Friday at the Lae Rugby League grounds

The men’s competition ends on Saturday with the finals and official closing of the National Championships, with the announcement of the respective National Championships representative teams for the U16, U18, U20, Women’s and Senior Men’s Teams.

The selected teams will participate during the Prime Minister’s XIII weekend when the Australia PM XIII will play PNG PM XIII scheduled for the 24th of September in Port Moresby.

The National Championships has a rich history of identifying and developing high quality rugby league talents that have succeeded in the likes of Kato Otio, Brandy Peter, Gahuna Silas, Ismael Balkava, Philimon Kimisive, Warren Glare, Nickson Borana, Edward Goma and many others who have continued on and are currently playing for their local Intercity Cup Franchises.

Related posts

Recycled Metal for 2020 Olympics

First Golf Jetpack

Elijah Lavett

PNGs Chef de Mission on Team PNG and Games Progress

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!