32 C
Port Moresby
April 21, 2021

Marshall Islands Elects First Female President

Share the News


By Rositta Liosi – EMTV Online

Hilda Heine, former Education Minister, secured 24 votes in the 33-member legislature, making history in becoming the first ever female President of the Marshall Islands.

Heine is also the first woman from the Marshall Islands to obtain a doctorate and is the founder of Women United Together Marshall Islands.

Her election comes a day after no confidence motion removed former President, Casten Nemra.

There have been previous no confidence motions and votes over the years, however it is an unprecedented development in the country for such a motion to be filed three days following an inauguration.

A correspondent for Radio New Zealand said, “the 33 senators in the Nitijela voted 21-12 in favour of the motion, ending the shortest presidency in the history of Marshall Islands.”

Also in a list of firsts for the country, about 40 per cent of the seats in parliaments changed hands in last year’s November elections.

Related Articles

Hilda Heine elected Marshalls president

New Marshalls president to face no confidence motion

Marshall Islands president toppled

Related posts

First Melanesian Fight to Take Place in Fiji

EMTV Online

PNG U20 Rugby Union Finish In Third Place

EMTV Online

Report Forecasts on 2015 Pacific Country’s Economic Growth

Marie Kauna
error: Content is protected !!