International News Sport

Nonu Takes Player of the Year Award

By Dion Kombeng – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

The New Zealand All Blacks swept through the awards at the 2015 New Zealand Rugby Awards night in Auckland.

Rugby players throughout the country swapped their boots and jerseys for suits and ties as they celebrated their achievements in the sport for the year.

The back-to-back World Cup rugby champions took out the award for the team of the year, and coach Steve Hansen took out the coach of the year award.

Ma’a Nonu edged out Dan Carter, Ben Smith and Dan Coles to be named New Zealand’s Rugby player of the year.

Nonu, who’s currently in France, thanked his All Blacks teammates and coaches for their continuous support. He also thanked his fans for being behind him whenever he played rugby.

Under coach Hansen, the All Blacks created history in becoming the first team to win the Rugby World Cup for the third time, and to win successive crowns. They also defeated English with a clean sweep 3-0 in June, managed to retain the Bledisloe Cup for 13 years consecutively, and this year only lost one single match to Australia.

Related posts

Djorne Fong Retains Men?s Snooker Title for Eighth Consecutive Year

EMTV Online

POM Industry Touch Association’s Pre-season Kicks Off

EMTV Online

Growing Demand For Health Care: Etep Rural Hospital

Lucy Kopana

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!