22.7 C
Port Moresby
July 27, 2021

More Failed Elections Declared For Highlands Region

Share the News
The Electoral Commissioner, onthe eve ofthe return of writs for the 2013 LLG elections, has announced four more failed elections for the Highlands region.


North and south Koroba LLGs inthe Lake Kopiago districtoHayapuga LLG inthe Tari district and Erave LLG were declared failed elections bythe commissioner yesterday.

These LLGs are inthe Hela and Southern Highlands Provinces.


This bringsthe total number of LLGs declared failed for the 2013 LLG elections inthe Highlands region to 24.


“The reasons for failingthe five LLG’s are as follows;
  • hijacking of ballot papers and ballot boxes,
  • illegal signing of ballot papers by candidate’s supporters or agents,
  • kidnapping of electoral and security officials bythe supporters,
  • destruction of ballot boxes and ballot papers, and
  • Violence resulting in deaths of citizens.”
The commissioner said he has advisedthe Minister forInter Government relations andthe Deputy Prime Minister Leo Dion accordingly.


Mr. Trawen said police have been given directives to stop any polling gtherings inthese LLGs.


“I made my position clear and failedthe elections…whateverthey are doing now is illegal and I will not recognise and will not returnthe writs tothe minister…and that’s final,” he said.

The commissioner also announced that he has signed instruments to extendthe date for return of writs for the Hela, Madang and Jiwaka provinces.


Mr. Trawen said he has approverdthe 7-day extension from August 6th to September 6.


Related posts

Women’s Expo to Showcase PNG Women Entrepreneurs

EMTV Online

Port Moresby Family Homeless After House Demolished

Fabian Hakalits

Philippines National Rugby League: Albay Vulcans vs Manila Storms

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!