24.7 C
Port Moresby
June 25, 2021
Featured News

Six Judges Appointed For National, Supreme Courts

Share the News

The National & Supreme Courts of Papua New Guinea will soon have 44 judges.

This follows the decision of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission (JLSC) to appoint 10 more judges.

Of the ten, four have been appoint as acting judges.

Justice Minister & Attorney General, Davis Steven, who is Chairman of Judicial & Legal Services Commission, today announced the decision of the JLSC to appoint ten more judges to serve in the National & Supreme Courts of Papua New Guinea.

Of the 10, six are permanent judges who will each serve for a period of 10 Years.

They are;

1. Professor Justice Oagile Bethuel

2. Jim Wala Tamate

3. Thomas Anis

4. Danajo Koeget

5. Daniel Liosi, and

6. Ravunama Auka

Professor Justice Oagila Bethuel is the first appointment of a judge from Botswana – a country with a similar jurisdiction to Papua New Guinea.

According to Minister Steven, Bethuel’s appointment was done by the JLSC following its decision to seek judges from countries with common law jurisdictions, apart from Australia.

In addition, four Acting Judges have also been appointed – each to serve for a period of 12 months.

They are;

1. Sinclair Gora

2. David Susame

3. John Kaumi, and

4. John Numapo

Related posts

Automation of State Superannuation Contributions launched

EMTV Online

Don Bosco Celebrate 200 Years of Education

EMTV Online

Australian Federal Police Donates Soccer Balls

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!