News Sport

Lewas Are Champions

The Pacific MMI Lewas are champions of the East Asia–Pacific after ending Japan’s four year reign as the number one ranked team in the region.


Lewas are now officially qualified for next year’s ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier, leading to the Women’s World Twenty20 Cup in India in 2016.


Sano City in Japan was swept up in cricket fever with the local side entering the final as favorites. The Pacific MMI Lewas were true to their form since day one, flying the black, red and gold colors with pride.


The crowds in attendance were warmed up by many activities, including the local town mascot and reigning national mascot of the year, Sanomaru, teaching the public the rules of cricket.


PNG’s Helen Atai, became the first female umpire from the region to stand in a final of an ICC event. She was joined by Associate and Affiliate Panel Umpire, Cathy Cross.


Lewas won the toss and batted, but got off to a shaky start against a Japanese side who looked up and about in front of their adoring fans.


Lewas’ Ruma and Siaka’s partnership brought hope. Ruma batted through the innings to end 47 not out, pushing the Lewas total to 3/113


It was not a good start in reply for Japan when Kila Frank took three wickets in her first over to have the hosts in trouble at 3/8.


Japan’s Ema Kuribayashi at the crease showed anything was still possible, however a mix up in the middle saw her back in the sheds, triggering another collapse.


Japans Kubota–Lanno partnership contributed 56 runs lifting the score to 5/80 after 13 overs, however Lewas brilliance in the field came to the fore, and got them News by 11 runs.


In the earlier match, Samoa proved too good for the Cook Islands to win the third place playoff by 110 runs.

Related posts

Man Electrocuted in Boroko Identified

EMTV Online

Oil Search Release Third Quarter Results

EMTV Online

Saga Of PM O’Neill’s Arrest Warrant

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!