News Sport

Argentina To Meet Germany In FIFA World Cup Finals

Argentina has defeated the Netherlands 4-2 in a penalty shootout, placing themselves in the World Cup final against Germany.

The Germans themselves will be full of confidence after thrashing hosts Brazil in a seven one rout.


Netherlands and Argentina have met 8 times previously, with the former winning four games and three games ending in a draw. The only tie won by Argentina was in the 1978 World Cup final.


Four minutes of intense drama followed 120 minutes of stalemate on Wednesday, as Argentina booked its place in the World Cup final after surviving a thrilling penalty shootout against the Netherlands.


With the score locked at 0-0 after extra time, Argentina goalkeeper Sergio Romero was the hero, saving kicks from Ron Vlaar and Wesley Sneijder to take his country into the final for the first time since 1990.


Maxi Rodriguez converted the fourth and ultimately decisive penalty for Argentina and the Netherlands once again fell short, having also lost on spot kicks in the 1998 semifinal while finishing as runners-up on three occasions.


Argentina will now meet Germany in the finals on Sunday.


Germany are favorites heading into this match and possessing enough quality across their starting 11 to give the Argentines real trouble.


That comes after handing Brazil its most humiliating defeat since 1954.


It was always going to be difficult for Brazil without injured star Neymar and suspended captain, Thiago Silva, but nobody imagined this feeble surrender – four goals surrendered to Germany in six minutes during a 7-1 rout in a World Cup semifinal.


Argentina will grace footballs biggest stage in their first finals appearance since 1990 and has lost just one of their last 16 World Cup games.


Argentina are yet to trail for a single minute of this World Cup and captain Lionel Messi has created the most goal-scoring chances in the World Cup with 19.


This will be the 3rd time Argentina and Germany meet in the finals. Argentina won in 1986 and Germany won in 1990. 

Related posts

Rugby 7s At Port Moresby 2015

EMTV Online

PM Visits Affected Areas

EMTV Online

Smack that fly!

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!