News Sport

Preparation Challenges For SP PM Rugby League Competition

Port Moresby Rugby League is set to kick off its 2014 season next weekend with 16 regular teams. 

Puma Rugby League Club will not take part this season, but there are three new clubs who have shown interest.   


The SP Port Moresby Rugby League Competition was renowned for nurturing and creating pathways for players to transition into professional footballers.


The competition was a success story in the past but with the 2014-2015 important transition for Port Moresby, along with the Lloyd Robson Oval undergoing construction, the PRL Board faces a hunt for venues to host the games.


The PRL Board and Management fruitfully secured the Hohola Rugby League ground and the Murray Barracks oval.


Sixteen teams will be up next weekend, excluding Puma Rugby League Club, who has opted out for this season. Three clubs showing interest will be vying for the spot.


Major Sponsor SP Brewery has once again chipped in K50, 000 with the aim of developing and bringing rugby league to greater heights.


Dobo Warriors’ major sponsor Dekenai Construction has also come good with a whopping K50, 000, boosting the PRL Balance from K865.00 to K100, 000.


Former PNG Kumul player and head of the PRL board, Dr. James Naipao, commended the support received, while giving prominence to partnering with business houses to further the future of rugby league in the country.


Dr. Naipao debuted into PNG Kumuls in 1990 and was with PRL for last 25 years.

Related posts

Tok Piksa – Episode 5, 2013

EMTV Online


Thomas Huliambari

Polye: Deferral of the 2017 Leadership Summit A Disgrace

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!