News Sport

Hekari Tarangaus beat KPM Butterflies


Hekari Tarangaus are the 2014 Port Moresby Rugby League champions after beating the KPM Butterflies from Two Mile in a grand final match yesterday at the Murray Barracks Oval.

The Butterflies put on a gallant performance right to the end of the match. Braving the Port Moresby’s blazing heat were the rugby league enthusiasts, who came in numbers to watch the two regulars – Hekari Tarangaus in brown and gold, and the Butterflies.

The Tarangaus looked promising from the moment they released the eagles into the air in front of the CIS bagpipers.

The Butterflies were fully on hand to defend against their opponents as they blended into the Murray Barracks Oval. The clash of the titans began as the crowd worked themselves into frenzies.

Halfback Dickson Ani took a penalty kick for the Butterflies. Tarangau’s Ben Bip came off the bench and scored. Solomon Pokari put boot to ball to bring the score up to 6 points to 2 at halftime. It was an interesting second half, with Butterflies coming up with an equaliser.

The match went neck to neck at the 77th minute, when Tarangau’s five eighth, Solomon Pokari, snapped a field goal to break the tie and hearts of the Butterflies. Hekari Tarangaus won 7-6 and were crowned as the 2014 Port Moresby Rugby League champions. In the under-19 division, Kone Storms edged out the Tarangaus 2-nil.

Related posts

Polling to Go On for Nabak LLG

EMTV Online

2015 World Habitat Day: Public Spaces For All

EMTV Online

Prime Murder Suspect of Lae’s Children’s Doctor Caught

Martha Louis

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!