Featured News Southern Your Vote 2017

24 Candidates Nominated for Abau Open Seat

As of close of nominations yesterday afternoon, a total of 24 candidates have nominated for the Abau Open Seat in the Central Province.

Among those who have nominated is sitting member, Sir Puka Temu, and other notable individuals including Kilroy Genia, Sir Tipo Vuatha, Evele Kala, Stephen Mera and Dr Wari Iamo.

Returning Officer for Abau, Lawrence Baro, said the nomination period at the district headquarters Kupiano was generally peaceful.

The final day for nomination yesterday saw eleven (11) candidates come forward for the Abau Open seat.

Baro said a total of 24 candidates nominated by close of Nomination at 4pm.

Abau registered only one female candidate, Judith Paul Lapila, running as an Independent.

Intending candidate and former Secretary for the Department of Environment & Conservation, Dr Wari Iamo, was accompanied by supporters from his village Paramana to Kelerakwa.

There he and a smaller number of supporters boarded dinghies and made it across the Marshall Lagoon to Kupiano.

After nominating, he addressed the gathering about his policies as a member of the National Alliance Party.

The Order of Draw has been set for Abau, with Box 10 given to Independent candidate Gregory Lua Roaveneo and Box 33 given to another Independent, Pastor Sifu Eresi Kaiulo.

Dr Iamo, Box 14, will be up against sitting MP and People’s National Congress faithful, Sir Puka Temu, Box 15.

Of the 24 total candidates, 13 are Independent while the remaining 11 have been endorsed by political parties.

Former MP Kilroy Genia is running as an Independent this time around, while Businessman, Evele Kala, is contesting under the Social Democratic Party.

Related posts

Business PNG – Interview with Don Polye, Minister for Treasury

EMTV Online

In Moresby Tonight – Episode 20, 2014

EMTV Online

NCD Boxing Ready for the Nationals

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!