Cricket Sport

Team East Asia Pacific Fall Short of a ACCC Grand Final Play

Team East Asia Pacific fell short of making the Australian Country Cricket Championship grand final after losing to South Australia Country by 26 runs, and New South Wales, by 35 runs. New South Wales Country went on to defeat Queensland Country by 39 runs in the finals.

The Australian Country Cricket Championship is an annual tournament which showcases the best cricket talent with teams from all around Australia and the East Asia Pacific region. And being part of the EAP region, PNG men’s and women’s national cricket teams, the Hebou PNG Barramundis and the CPL PNG Lewas are also part of this tournament.

The EAP Men’s Team consists of six (6) PNG players and eight (8) Vanuatu players while the Women’s team has 8 PNG Lewas, 4 Vanuatu players and a Samoan. The men’s team performed well winning three of their five matches. But For now, the women’s results are yet to be confirmed. And while the Barramundis 2018 Calendar is yet to be confirmed, the Lewas on the other hand are gearing up for the T20 World Cup qualifiers due in June in the Netherlands. And this tournament serves as a much needed prep for the national women’s team.

Related posts

Queens Baton to Relay through Kimbe

Dinnierose Raiko

Bigger Plans for Motu Koita 9s

Dinnierose Raiko

PNG’s Anna-Liza Mopio Jane Aiming for New Heights in Career

Godwin Eki

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!