Opposition moves to form alternative government

by Bridgette Komatep – EM TV, Port Moresby

The Opposition is lobbying to form an alternative government to replace the O’Neill-Dion government.

This morning, Members of Parliament crossed over to the Opposition camp. So far, eight Members of Parliament have joined the Opposition and the Opposition has said that more are expected to join soon.

Opposition Leader Belden Namah and Opposition Deputy Sam Basil welcomed the move by the Members of Parliament. They included Kandep MP and THE Party Leader Don Polye, together with THE Party members Kikori MP Mark Maipakai and Rai Coast MP James Gau.  Another new member of the Opposition is Member for Laigaip-Porgera, Nixon Mangape.

The Opposition started off with 25 Members of Parliament but the number decreased over time as most members were allegedly deprived from accessing District Services Improvement Funds which forced them to join the O’Neill-Dion government.

So far, there are 8 Opposition members, with 10 more expected to form the alternative government. The Opposition has maintained that it’s not about the numbers but about ethics.

Related posts

Plans Underway to Turn Burnt Vocopoint Police Post into a Water Police Base

EMTV Online

French attacks cast uncomfortable spotlight on Brussels district

EMTV Online

ATS Water Woes Settled

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!