31 C
Port Moresby
April 15, 2021
Featured News

Four Permanent Judges Sworn in to Office

Share the News

Four permanent judges of the National & Supreme Courts were sworn in today. Governor General Grand Chief Sir Bob Dadae today presided over their swearing in ceremony.

The four judges are;
1. Ravunama Auka
2. Danajo Koeget
3. Daniel Liosi, and
4. Thomas Anis

The four had previously served as acting judges in different parts of the country for two years prior to their permanent appointments.
According to Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia, the addition of these four permanent judges is in line with the National & Supreme Courts mission to build the capacity of the judiciary.

Justice Auka will be based in Wabag, Enga Province, Justice Liosi will be based in Kundiawa, Simbu Province,and Thomas Anis will be based in Kokopo.

Justice Koeget, who is the designated judge for Daru, Western province, will continue to be based in Port Moresby until such time Court and accommodation facilities are ready in Daru.

According to Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia, the development of a proper court and accommodation facility for the Daru Court are in progress, with plans to have Justice Koeget based in Daru by the end of 2018.

With these four judges taking their oath of office, this brings to 39 the number of permanent judges currently serving in the National & Supreme Court – three short of the statutory ceiling of 42 judges.

Whilst the statutory ceiling is 42, Sir Salamo has clarified that there are also an additional number of Acting Judges to assist in dispensing justice throughout the country.

Related posts

City cleans up for Royal Visit

EMTV Online

Lamana Cup Pool Tournament 2014 Ends

EMTV Online

Land Minister Responds to Ela Beach Saga

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!