Featured News

Dadae Appointed as 10th Governor General

Kabwum MP, Bob Dadae was voted by parliament as the 10th Governor General of Papua New Guinea.

Dadae was nominated Governor General by 55 votes after the first elimination round.

He replaces Sir Michael Ogio, who had completed serving his six-year term, as the Governor General.

The other two candidates were former Nawaeb MP, Timothy Bonga, and the first PNG Defence Force Commander, Edward Ranua Diro.

They were both present in parliament when the voting took place.

Acting speaker of Parliament, John Simon, read out the names of the three candidates and explained that the members of parliament had to vote using exhaustive secret ballots.

This means, they were not supposed to disclose the name of the candidate they voted for.

From the 80 MPs that voted in the first round. Former PNGDF Commander, Edward Ranu Diro received 20 voters, Timothy Bonga 26 and Bod Dadae collected 24 votes.

Edward Ranu Diro was eliminated in the first round.

The second voting saw Timothy Bonga on 36 votes, while Bob Dadae got 55 votes.

Following his appointment, Dadae will serve a term of six years as the Queen’s Representative in Papua New Guinea.

Related posts

Alotau: Women organize WalkAgainst Corruption

EMTV Online

Momis Warns on ABG Budget Cut

EMTV Online

Works Minister says More Funds Needed for National Roads

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!