West Sepik Attains Provincial Health Authority

West Sepik is the 6th province to roll out of the second phase of the Provincial Health Authority by the Department of Health.

The new health system will see the managing and administration by the provincial government, while the public hospitals come under the Health Department.


This new administration mechanism will avoid duplication of services, including church run health services.


Western Highlands, Eastern Highlands, and Milne Bay recently adopted the new system.


West New Britain, Enga and West Sepik are now into their second phase of establishing the Provincial Health Authority concept. Manus will be the 7th province to come under the umbrella of PHA, commonly tagged as the ‘wan system tasol’.


Health Minister, Michael Malabag is encouraging and calling on other provinces in the country to adopt the new health system for convenience with the government’s strategy in delivering an effective health service to the people in our communities.


The declaration and the issuing of the Ministerial Order will take place in Vanimo tomorrow by the Minister for Health and HIV/AIDS, Michael Malabag.

Related posts

Jireh Widuh, a Person With Special Needs Challenges Candidates

Florence Jonduo

Apes show complex cognitive skills watching ‘King Kong’ videos



Amanda Ilaitia

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!