28.3 C
Port Moresby
January 20, 2020
News Sport

Media Pool Competition Celebrates 10th Anniversary

The Port Moresby Media Pool Competition celebrated its 10th anniversary yesterday at the Lamana hotel.

The competition has grown to cater for the growing interest among the media industry, as well as corporate entities.


Ten years on and the competition that started with just 4 teams in 2004, has now attracted a total of 24 teams registered for this year’s title. Known for the laid back setting of the game, pool is more of a strategic or an intellectual game.


National Capital District came on board this year to increase their sponsorship of K2,500 last year,  to K10, 000 this year, with the aim of bringing the media to work in unity towards the 2015 Pacific Games.


Media Pool Chairman, Collin Taimbari, is delighted to see the competition grow since its inception.  He also thanks the undying support and fans that turn up week-in week-out for the challenges, and thankful for the support the competition has received from the corporate entities throughout the years.


Last year, Paul Paraka Spin Doctors took out the title with a prize money of K8,000. This year, the teams will be vyin for not only the title but K10,000 prize money.


Related posts

Prime Minister visits Talasea

EMTV Online

Cutmore: League Can Improve

EMTV Online

Vanimo’s Informal Market Stalls Removed, Vendors Protest

Stanley Ove Jnr.
error: Content is protected !!