30.7 C
Port Moresby
June 26, 2022
Cricket News Sport

EMTV Broadcasts Indian Premier League

Television Service provider EMTV through its mother, Media Niugini Limited, will be broadcasting the 2014 Indian Premier League (IPL).

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket tournament, where different franchise teams participate for the title.


The 2014 season will be the seventh season of the IPL. The Mumbai Indians will be the defending champions, having won the 2013 season after defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final.


There will be eight teams this season, one fewer than 2013 after the withdrawal of the Pune Warriors India. The tournament will be jointly hosted by India, the United Arab Emirates, and Bangladesh.


IPL is the most-watched Twenty20 cricket league in the world, and also known for its commercial success. During the sixth IPL season, (2013) its brand value was estimated to be around US$3.03 billion.


Of the 11 clubs to have competed since the inception of the Premier League in 2008, five have won the title.

The current champions are Mumbai Indians, who won the title in the 2013 season with the Cheenai superkings, being the most successful with 6 finals appearances. Currently there are eight teams.

Related posts

Stuart vows to turn around struggling Eels

EMTV Online

Athletes Commission encourage leadership

EMTV Online

Early Childhood Development meeting focuses on Capital Cognitive 

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!