Bougainville Islands News

Community Government Election Successfully Delivered

The Office of the Bougainville Electoral Commissioner has successfully delivered the first Community Government Election of the Autonomous Bougainville Government.

Acting Electoral Commissioner, George Manu told EMTV News that although there was minimal funding, this didn’t really affect the delivery of this election. The amount, however, was not disclosed.

“There were no complaints raised and I thanked my staff and our implementing partners for delivering a fair, free and peaceful election, which enhances the democratic process in Bougainville,” he said.

Manu has confirmed, that provisional results of the non-urban Community Government Election had been certified without change and submitted to the Community Government Department.

 However only five-community government’s constituent wards have been affected because their boundaries were not fully defined.

They are Ioro 1 (Pangkaa 1, Pankaa 2), Ioro 2 (Piu, Taumori, Kabouku/Parakake, Pakia), Eivo (Kopani) North Nasioi (Keriei West), Ramu (Moronne, Maino)

With this certification, I confirm that provisional results have been certified without change. Copies of the various ward results may be accessed at the OBEC Facebook page – please make sure to follow us online,” Manu announced.

“Elections were held to form a total of 43 non-urban community governments. Ten wards out of 425 did not have their boundaries fully defined at the time of the election and therefore elections for these wards will be held at a later date. A total of 5 community governments are affected by this postponement. These 5 community governments were still able to hold elections however for their remaining constituent wards,”

A review on the Community Government election and data will also be conducted that needs to confirm several provisional information.

We will be conducting a review of these elections and examining the data in due course but some information which still needs to be confirmed shows that:

  • Turnout was over 60% if we compare with the ABG 2015 voter roll;
  • More than 60% of elections held were contested by more than one candidate;
  • Less than 1% of ballots were informal and;
  • There were only 5 complaints raised which mainly related to the legislated time available for candidate nominations and voting.
  • Importantly there were no issues reported concerning either security or the integrity of the election.

Meanwhile all community governments now have less than 14 days to conduct their first meeting to elect their chairperson’s and vice chairperson.

Failure to do so is a matter that Community Government Department of the Autonomous Bougainville Government will consider.

Mr. Manu says he wants to see all non-urban community government’s established throughout the Autonomous Region of Bougainville.

Related posts

MoU Signed to Commence Work on ATS Water Project

EMTV Online

Remote School in Western Province Receive Books & Stationery Supplies

EMTV Online

Ipatas Welcomes Talita’s Petition

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!