Rugby League Sport

Sydney Roosters win 2017 NRL Auckland 9’s tournament

The Sydney Roosters won the 2017 NRL Auckland 9’s tournament after defeating the Penrith Panthers, 10-8.

Down by 10 points at half time, Panthers hit back with two second-half tries and had a chance to send the game into extra time, but missed the conversion attempts.

The Roosters didn’t have to wait long to score as tournament MVP, Connor Watson, threw a perfect cut-out pass to send Daniel Tupou over in just the third minute.

Watson showed he was equally adept throwing right to left as he put a spiral pass onto the chest of Bernard Lewis, who touched down in the opposite corner to open up an early 10-point lead at the break.

This is the first time the Roosters have won the Auckland 9’s tournament.

Related posts

Usain does it again for Beijing sweep

EMTV Online

Brendon Beno on Life with the Coolangatta AFL Club, Gold Coast

EMTV Online

Team PNG Set To Make Their Mark Offshore

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!