24 C
Port Moresby
February 26, 2021

University of Goroka has New Interim Council

Share the News

by Jack Lapauve Jr – EM TV News, Goroka

The University of Goroka has a new interim council.

The Interim Council was sworn in on Wednesday, September 23 by Senior Magistrate of Goroka Districts Court, Gerard Wetunawa.

The occasion was witnessed by Higher Education Minister, Malakai Tabar, and HERST Secretary, Professor David Kavanmur, at the University’s library.

Speaking before the swearing in Minister Tabar said it is only fitting to have an Interim Council with the current student uprising and boycott of classes.

Tabar said the council will now play its role in decision making in regard to the operation of the University.

The Interim Council will be headed by Joseph Sukwianomb as Chancellor and Dr Musawe Sinabare as Pro Chancellor.

Other council members include Lawrence Titimur, George Augustine, Dr Alfred Tivinalik, Leslie Hoffman, Dr Julie Kaman, Steven Rere and Tai Sansen.

The swearing in of the Interim Council comes almost 5weeks after the students boycotted classes and presented a petition to Higher Education Minister Malakai Tabar.

An external investigation is still in progress by an independent team into the allegations of mismanagement by the former university administration.

The report of the investigation will be finalised and handed to Minister Tabar to sight before the Interim Council deliberate on its recommendations.

Related posts

Bomana: Female Driver Fighting for Life After Car Crash

EMTV Online

US-Government avails significant funds to combat trafficking in PNG

EMTV Online

PNGDF’s new Company of excellence

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!