News Sport

SP Sport Awards finalists announced

This year’s Presentation Nightill be held onthe 25th of May and will includethe awarding ofthe Sir John Dawanincura Sport Ambassador Award.

This year will markthe 21st Anniversary ofthe prestigious annual SP Sport Awards. A total of 121 nominations have been received, nominations without documentation however have been left out.

Finalists for the 2013 SP Sportman ofthe Year award include CrickePNG’s Asadollah Vala who starred inthe Australian Webb shield challenge.

Dion Aiye (pictured) who was instrumental for reigning Digicel Cup premieres Rabaul Gurias will be up against Champion Swimmer Ryan Pini who was part of TeaPNG tothe London Olympics.

The highlight ofthe night and as isthe case every year, guest speaker at this year’s awards night will be former NRL player Nigel Vangana.

Having represented New Zealand and Samoa in 3World Cups, former Vangana not only leaves a football legacy but has a passion to educate and develop young footballers.

Sport woman ofthe year finalist include Theresa Tona, Taekwondo, Dika Toua Weightlifting, Toea Wisil Athletics.

Forthe junior Male athlete ofthe year; Belly junior Belly of Karatee along with Betler Morrise of Rugby Union anPNG weightlifting’s Fred Oala are vying for the award.

Junior Female athlete will be a close contest between Lorraine Harry, Cecial Kuman and Berbara Vali.

Related posts


Natasha Ovoi

Rice Relief Reaches Komo-Magarima District

EMTV Online

Christian Brethren Church Youth Convention in Moresby

Eric Haurupma

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!