26 C
Port Moresby
January 15, 2021
News Rugby League Southern Sport

Schoolboy League in Port Moresby

Share the News

With the inception of schoolboys rugby league in the nation’s capital coming in the year 2000, the initiative died out in 2007 later to be revived in 2009.

Since then, PNG has been able to create top players in the country who are now currently playing overseas and domestically with the PNG Hunters.

Back home, trial matches are being held within the National Capital District (NCD), so that a final team can be selected to represent the schoolboys in the National Zone Championships in Lae next month.

So far teams have been broken up in to three zones: Moresby South, with their 15 school clubs, North West zone, with 13 schools and North East with 12 schools.

From the three zones a final team will be put together to represent Port Moresby.

Meanwhile, Coordinator of Schoolboys Rugby League, Ben Kaupa, said some of the stars to have come through this initiative have been James Segeyaro, Dion Aiy, Israel Eliab, Wartovo Puara Jnr, Warran Glar and the Albert brothers.

Related posts

Salamaua Climate Change

Julie Badui-Owa

Brothers Win Matagal Cup

EMTV Online

Namatanai: Marine GPS Monitoring System Program Launched

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!