Salum Appointed as Executive Director to APCC, Indonesia

Papua New Guinean Uron Neil Salum has been inaugurated as the new Executive Director for the Asian Pacific Coconut Community (APCC) for a term of 3 years in the organization’s head office in Jakarta, Indonesia.


It is the first time in 45 years for APCC to have a Pacific Island Country citizen to head this inter-governmental organization, responsible for promoting coconut-based farming industries and products.


Mr Salum vowed to carry on the good work by his predecessor and make APCC activities more visible to its member countries. He was accompanied by Secretary for Trade, Commerce and Industry, John Andrias, and other senior officials who witnessed the swearing in. 


The Asian Pacific Coconut Community (APCC) is an intergovernmental organization organized in 1969 under the aegis of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP). The APCC has 18 coconut producing member countries accounting for over 85-90% of the world’s coconut production and exports of coconut products.

The APCC member countries include: Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Vietnam. Jamaica and Kenya are associate member countries of the APCC.

Related posts

Liquor Licencing Officer Responds to Complaints of a Local Lae Community

Julie Badui-Owa

More Police Officers Assaulted

EMTV Online

CS Minister: CS to address officers’ accommodation problems

Martha Louis

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!