27.7 C
Port Moresby
October 24, 2021

Return of Writs

Electoral Commissioner Andrew Trawen, today returned most local level government election writs tothe Minister ofInter Government Relations and District Developments, Leo Dion.

Two hundred and thirty writs, out of three hundred and nineteen were presented to Mr Dion.


Deputy Minister, Joe Sung,i and Chief Secretary tothe GovernmentoSir Manasupe Zurenuoc, were also present to withnessthe signing over ofthe writs.


Commissioner Trawen said 66 LLGs will returntheir writs onthe 6th of September whilethe 23 that were failed will await’supplementary elections.


“As soon as funding is given we will be able to plan outthese elections,” said Commissioner Trawen.


When thankingthe Electoral Commission for delivering most LLG elections on time Mr Dion said education and awareness must be increased so that Papua New Guineas can be reminded of election laws and processes so as to avoid such circumstances.


“We need to educate Papua New Guineas onthe law so that election processes are run with fewer disturbances.” Said Leo Dion


The writs werethen signed by both parties, endingthe ceremony. The Electoral Commission was commended by Deputy Minister Mr Sungi and Chief Secretary Sir Manasupe, who saidthe government was ready to assistthe commission in any needs that arise.


Meanwhile,the 66 LLGs who will returntheir writs next week are from Hela, Southern Highlands, Enga, Jiwaka and Eastern Highlands provinces.


The number of failed elections reached 23 yesterday whenthe electoral commission announced that four more were declared failed.


On anther note,the Madang and Ambunti-Drekikir by-elections, have yet to receive funding. Commissioner Trawen said it is possiblethese by-elections will take place afterthe supplementary elections.


Related posts

PNGDF Commander: No Comments onKapris Aid

EMTV Online

Madang’s Beon Correctional Facility Overcrowded

Martha Louis

Origin Energy Supports Women

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!