27.5 C
Port Moresby
May 13, 2021

PNG To Compete In OFC U-17 Women’s Championships

Share the News

By Elijah Lavett – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

Papua New Guinea will compete in the OFC U-17 Women’s Championships from January 9-23 2016, in the Cook Islands.

The tournament confirms the pathway to the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Jordan next year.

The tournament will feature nine teams which have been split into two groups. Group A consists of Samoa, Tonga, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia and defending champions New Zealand, while Group B is made up of Fiji, Cook Islands, Vanuatu and Papua New Guinea.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals. Fiji, Samoa and Vanuatu will be competing for the first time.

New Zealand has won the last two OFC U-17 women’s championships, and they will be hoping for a fourth straight appearance at the World Cup.


Related posts

Bird Watching Project At Stake

EMTV Online

16 BDA Staff Still Displaced

Ruth Rungula

Gazelle schools receive new education infrastructure

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!