29.2 C
Port Moresby
January 27, 2021
Rugby League Sport

PM’s XIII Team Named

Share the News

The PNG Prime Minister’s 13 team was named today at the National Football Stadium.

The Team consists of a good mixture of players from the SP PNG Hunters, the Intercity Cup and overseas based players.

The Theme for this year is Stop Violence.

Two players from the recently ended, National Confederate Championships have been included in the team. Yoks Bagave from the Southern Confederation Senior Men’s team and Muka Peter Kulu from the Southern Confederation U20 team.

Bland Abavu, Ase Boas, Butler Morris, Justin Olam, Brandy Peter Wartovo Puara Jnr and Esau Siune have been picked from the Hunters. While Ray Thompson, Willie Minoga and Rhys Martin have been chosen from the Townsville Blackhawks, and David Mead and Nene McDonald are set to join the team from the Gold Coast Titans.

Minister for Sports, Justin Tkatchenko, says Rugby League in Papua New Guinea has come a long way in a short period of time, and with the recent success of the Kumuls early this year, they will be using it as a boost to take on Australia.

They will also be using this to select a team for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

National Gaming Control Board has secured the naming rights of the team.

Speaking on behalf of the Prime Minister’s office was Chief of Staff, George Bopi, who says the PM is excited with the team and is looking forward to the match.

The team will be coached by Michael Marum and assisted by Stanley Tepend.

Two curtain raiser matches will be played on game day, the first being the PNG U16 team who will play an Australian team and the Port Moresby Rugby League Women’s Grand Final match.

The team goes into camp this weekend for the match on September 24. Tickets go on sale this week Wednesday at big rooster and Stop and shop outlets in Port Moresby.

ABAVU, Bland                                                   SP Hunters

ALU, Ila                                                                 Rabaul Agmark Gurias

AWANE, Pasu                                                    Lae Snax Tigers

BAGAVE, Yoks                                                   Southern Confederation Seniors

BENFORD, Anderson                                      Lae Snax Tigers

BERNARD, Konnie                                            Rabaul Agmark Gurias

BOAS, Ase                                                           SP Hunters

BRAWA, Bradley                                               TNA Simbu Lions

GOMA, Bernard                                                               Gulf Isapea

JOEL, Noel                                                           Lae Snax Tigers

KALAS, Mafu                                                      Lae Snax Tigers

KULU, Muka Peter                                          Southern Confederation U’20

LOKO, David                                                       Lae Snax Tigers

MARTIN Rhyse                                                  Townsville Blackhawks

McDONALD Nene                                            Gold Coast Titans

MEAD David                                                       Gold Coast Titans

MINOGA Willie                                                 Townsville Blackhawks

MORRIS, Butler                                                 SP Hunters

OLAM, Justin                                                     SP Hunters

PAUL, Kingston                                                 Enga Mioks

PETER, Brandy                                                   SP Hunters

PUARA, Wartovo Jnr                                      SP Hunters

ROP, Junior                                                         Lae Snax Tigers

SIUNE, Esau                                                        SP Hunters

THOMPSON Ray                                               Townsville Blackhawks

Coach:                  Michael Marum

A/Coach               Stanley Tepend



Related posts

PNG Fighters in Seminar

EMTV Online

Women in League receives support

EMTV Online

Vabukori Amateur Volleyball Association aims for a 15th win

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!