22.7 C
Port Moresby
July 2, 2022

Paraka Saga: Four Suspended

Four members of the National Fraud and Anti-Corruption Division have been implicated and suspended this morning in relation to the bench warrant of arrest on the Prime Minister and two cabinet ministers.

In a conference this afternoon, Police Commissioner, Tom Kulunga, named the four saying the hierarchy is acting on this serious matter without fear or favor.


Mr. Kulunga said a task force investigation team has now been established to thoroughly investigate the matter.


The commissioner and senior members of the Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary (RPNGC) cleared the air in a conference this afternoon.


The commissioner told the media, the force is seriously assisting the Task Force Sweep team on the payout of K71.8 million to law firm Paraka Lawyers, and is carrying out its constitutional duty without fear or favour and political influence.


The ongoing investigations into the K71.8 million Paul Paraka case, including the complaint laid by Opposition Leader Hon. Belden Namah against the Prime Minister, is currently being investigated by Police Fraud and Anti-Corruption detectives attached with the Task Force Sweep Team.


The commissioner named the four members of the force who were suspended this morning.


They are Detective Inspector, Joel Simatab, Detective Sergeant, Michael Dukur, Detective Senior Constable, Robert Ewail and First Constable, Thaddeus Yangawi. The officers are still on pay.


He said the three warrants of arrests including six others with regards to matters concerning the payments by the State to Paul Paraka Lawyers were yesterday set aside by the District Court as they were non-compliant with various provisions of the Arrest Act.


A task force investigation team has now been established which includes CID officers from outside NCD to thoroughly investigate the matter.


The commissioner has further directed that no further investigation or any arrest be carried out by any other section of the Police Force or by any other officer or member of the RPNGC other than those attached to Task Force Sweep team, under the chairmanship of Mr. Sam Koim.

Related posts

Prime Minister O’Neill positive on mining meet outcomes

EMTV Online

Potape: Change for Hela People

EMTV Online

Former Miss PNG to jet off for studies

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!