Cricket Sport

Pacific MMI Lewas in T20 Qualifier

by Elijah Lavett – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

The Pacific MMI PNG Lewas will be taking part in the International Cricket Council Women’s World T20 Qualifier, from November 28 to December 5.

They have been pooled alongside Bangladesh, Scotland and Thailand.

Eight countries will go head to head in the week-long tournament with two finalists joining reigning champion, Australia, in the ICC World Twenty20 in India, which will be staged alongside the men’s event from March 11 to April 3 2016.

Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies have earned direct qualification to next year’s event after finishing in the top eight.

This year’s event host, Thailand, is joined by China, Netherlands, PNG, Scotland, and Zimbabwe who have all qualified for the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier 2015, through regional tournaments.

According to the event format, the eight sides have been divided into two groups, with the top two from each group moving to the Trophy round.

The teams contesting for the Trophy final will qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 2016.

The Pacific MMI PNG Lewas will also, for the first time in history, represent PNG in the Pacific Games as a women’s national cricket team.

Related posts

Porgera Youths Turn to Sports

EMTV Online

Bomana Inmates End Easter Long Competition of Touch Footy and Soccer

EMTV Online

Brothers Belted: Wanderers Win

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!