PNG National Soccer League Competition Begins in November

By Dion Kombeng – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

Papua New Guinea’s only semi-professional competition, the National Soccer League, is set to kick-off its 2015-2016 season on November 14.

This comes after a media release from the PNG Football Association, setting the deadline for expressions of interest as October 6, with the annual affiliation fee of K60,000 to be paid prior to October 30.

The new look NSL will feature 10 teams from both the southern and northern region.

The criteria for inclusion in the country’s biggest competition includes incorporation of franchise clubs as a company, and having them registered with the IPA without a conflict of ownership.

Clubs must either have an exisiting home ground or demonstrate their ability to have their own ground within three years.

Clubs have also been asked to adequately demonstrate their ability to meet all financial commitments during the season.

10 franchise clubs have expressed interest to participate in the 2015-2016 National Soccer League in November.

They are Besta PNG United FC, Admiralty FC, last season’s minor premier Hekari United FC, champion Lae City Dwellers FC, runner-up Madang FC, and newcomers PS Huawei FC, Erema FC, Gigira Laitepo FC, Morobe United FC and PKA Rapatona FC.

Gigira Laitepo is making a comeback after missing out last season. Four franchises in FC Port Moresby, Lakatoi FC, Goroka FC and Tavur FC have shown interest but have yet to submit their expression of interest.

Related posts

Humble beginnings: Waigani Christian School Graduation

EMTV Online

Ablution Refurbished

EMTV Online

Airport, Roads and Cancer Treatment Unit Budgeted for Morobe Province in 2018

Scott Waide

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!