New Seismic Stations Established to Detect Early Warnings

Papua New Guineas will now be able to receive early warnings of earthquakes and tsunamis afterthe Port Moresby Geophysical Observatory completedthe installation of a new ten station seismic network in PNG


The stations will transmit real time data to Port Moresby Observatory.

The Port Moresby Geophysical Observatory has been in existence since 1957, but never hadthe capability to receive real time data until just recently withthe installation of ten seismic stations at strategic locations aroundthe country.


The aim ofthe project is to buildthe resilience of communities and strenthen early warning systems and communications.


Today sawthe official launch ofthese stations which will supply real time data tothPMGO. This in turn will result in timely dissemination of information tothe National Disaster Centre for them to issue early warnings.


Mining Minister Beron Chan launchedthe system atthe observatory.


These ten new stations have been made possible with funding from European Union throughthe Disaster Risk Reduction Project andthe stations are using TelikoPNG’s communications infrastructure.


Mining Secretary Shadrach Himata said this was a big achievement for the department butthey were faced with challenges on how to sustain it.


The ten new seismic stations include Wewak, Tabubil, Mt Hagen, Lae, Port Moresby, Alotau, Misima, Beka, Kavieng and Kimbe.

Related posts

Shavina Maras, Confident on Representing PNG in Golf

EMTV Online

Angau soon to resume Radiotherapy for Cancer Patients

Julie Badui-Owa


Thomas Huliambari

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!