National Soccer League Begins November

Spread the love

By Jeremy Mogi – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

The Papua New Guinea semi-professional competition, the National Soccer League, is set to kick-off its 2015-2016 season on November 14.

This comes after a release from the PNG Football Association setting the deadline for Expressions of Interest closing on Tuesday the 06th of October; with the annual affiliation fee of K60,000 which must be paid before 30 October.

The new look NSL will feature ten teams from both the southern and northern region, with an affiliation of K60,000.

The criteria for inclusion in the country’s biggest Football competition includes incorporation of franchise clubs as a company, having them registered with the IPA without a conflict of ownership.

Clubs must either have their home ground or demonstrate their ability to have their own ground within 3 years, although currently only Hekari FC over the years have had their own home ground, along with Madang, and Grand final winners Lae City Dwellers.

Clubs have also been asked to adequately demonstrate their ability to meet all financial commitments during the season.

Ten franchise clubs have expressed interest to participate in the 2015-2016 National Soccer League in November.

They are Besta PNG United FC, Admiralty FC, last season’s minor premier Hekari United FC, champion Lae City Dwellers FC, runner-up Madang FC, and newcomers PS Huawei FC, Erema FC, Gigira Laitepo FC, Morobe United FC and PKA Rapatona FC.

Gigira Laitepo is making a comeback after missing out last season.

Four franchises in FC Port Moresby, Lakatoi FC, Goroka FC and Tavur FC have shown interest but have yet to submit their expression of interest.

EMTV Online

EMTV Online is the premier destination for Papua New Guinea news on the internet.

EMTV Online

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!