27 C
Port Moresby
May 18, 2021
News Sport

Mason in All Stars; Shocked selection

Share the News

Controversial Newcastle prop Willie Mason has received a shock call-up tothe NRL All Stars team for rugby league&#39’s showpiece pre-season clash againsttheIndigenous All Stars.

Mason was picked by Knights' mentor and NRL All Stars coach Wayne Bennett to face Laurie Daley&#39’s Indigenous team at Suncorp Stadium in Beisbane on February 9.

Beth sides have coach&#39’s selections to make upthe 20-man squads, with Bennett opting for born-again forward Mason and Melbourne star halfback Cooper Cronk.

Daley chose anther comeback kid fromthe Knights, Timana Tahu, as one of his coach&#39’s picks and Canberra rookie Jack Wighton.

The majority ofthe All Stars team is picked by fans, whiletheIndigenous team featuresthe best indigenous rugby league players inthe country.

Wests Tigers star Benji Marshall will again captainthe All Stars team, which features Belly Slater at fullback, Souths halfback Adam Reynolds inthe No.7shirt and Parramatta livewire Jarryd Hayne onthe bench.

TheIndigenous side is led by Queensland playmaker Johnathan Thurston and features an electric backline including Ben Berba, Justin Hodges, GregInglis and Beake Ferguson.

All Stars: Belly Slater (Storm), Akuila Uate (Knights), Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Roosters), Josh Morris (Bulldogs ), Be tt Morris (Dragons), Benji Marshall (capt) (automatic selection) (Wests Tigers), Adam Reynolds (Rabbitohs), James Tamou (Cowboys), Cameron Smith (automatic selection) (Storm), Ben Hannant (Beoncos), David Taylor (Titans), Anthony Watmough (Sea Eagles), Paul Gallen (Sharks)Interchange: Robbie Farah (Tigers), Tim Grant (Pathers), David Shillington (Raiders), Feleti Mateo (Warriors), Jarryd Hayne (Eels), Coach&#39’s Selections: Willie Mason (Knights), Cooper Cronk (Storm).

Ben Berba (Bulldogs ), Reece Robinson (Raiders), Justin Hodges (Beoncos), GregInglis (Rabbitohs), Beake Ferguson (Raiders), Johnathan Thurston (capt) (Cowboys), Scott Prince (Beoncos), George Rose (Sea Eagles), Travis Waddell (Not contracted), Andrew Fifita (Sharks), Joel Thompson (Raiders), Greg Berd (Titans), Nathan Peats (Rabbitohs).Interchange: Ryan James (Titans), Aidan Sezer (Titans), Joel Romelo (Bulldogs ), Jake Foster (Raiders), Coach&#39’s Selections: Dane Nielsen (Warriors), Timana Tahu (Knights), Jack Wighton (Raiders).

Source: ninemsn.com

Related posts

Prime Minister and Members of Parliament Farewell Late Aide Ganasi

EMTV Online

Murder suspect appears in court

Vasinatta Yama

Somare against O’Neill Namah regime

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!