26 C
Port Moresby
November 15, 2019
News Sport

Koboni’s Snatch Title


By Skola Sengi – EMTV News, Port Moresby

Concept Koboni have snatched the 2015 Esi Loan AFL Premeirship Cup from defending champions  Moni Plus Taurama Suns this afternoon at the Murray Barracks ovals.

From the get go, Koboni maintained their aggression and patience on the field.

2014 leading goal-scorer, Amua Pirika, opened the score-line for Koboni’s in the first quarter, kicking all three behinds, Before the Suns came back to lead the first quarter, 14-points to 11.

The second quarter was no different to the first, with both teams allowing any opportunities for a break in defence. At time’s aggression go the best of the players.

By the third quarter the Sun’s looked to retain the title for another year, with a point difference over Koboni, 34-points to 33, and continued to tighten up on their defence throughout the final quarter. 

Seconds away from the final whistle, Koboni’s made a break through a fractured Sun’s backline to send the ball between the posts and snatch the title away from the Sun’s. 58-points to 53.

Koboni’s win also coincided with the clubs 50th anniversary.

In other results, Defence Hawks feated University Tigers to claim the crown in the Men’s Reserve grade while Gerehu Magpies are the new Queens of the Port Moreby AFl scene, defeating the Lamana Dockers, 23-points to 12.

Related posts

Cancer Treatment Centre Needs More Support

EMTV Online

Pacific GOC Slams Claims Made By The National

EMTV Online

Former Gulf Regional MP back in the race

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!