30.7 C
Port Moresby
October 26, 2021

Government on Special Purpose Authorities

The government has been tasked to investigate funds under all Special Purpose Authorities.


The Special Purpose Authorities were established to servethe interest of landowners of Mining and Petroleum impact project areas.

The Special Purpose Authorities created underthe Act of Parliament include Porgera, Kutubu, Moran, Hides, Komo, Koiari and Nimamar LLG Special Purpose Authorities.


Member for Komo Magarima Francis Potape whose Electorate hostthPNG LNG Project in Hides ordered an immediate review of all project listings and spending bythe different authorities.   


Deputy Governor and Minister forInter Government Relations Leo Dion admittedthese authorities have failed to perform but said it’s not an excuse to passthe buck.


“As far asthe legislation is concerned we cannot passthe buck. The Provincial GovernmentoLocal Level Government andthe Joint District Budget Priority Committees must take ownership,” says Leo Dion.


Meantime,the government has identiflied loopholes inthe Special Purpose Authorities and will reviewthem immediately so that NEC will considerthe way forward in relation to improving some of those weaknesses.


Related posts

Business PNG – Interview with Mr. John Leah and Ms. Sarah O’Connor

EMTV Online

NCSL’s Poro Debit Card launched

Meriba Tulo

Sir Wilson Kamit Join PNGSDP Board

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!