Fourth Vote of No Confidence Motion Filed by Opposition

Three attempts to remove Prime Minister, Peter O’Neill, through a Vote of No Confidence have failed but this time the Opposition is adamant that it will be successful.

At 10:25am today, Deputy Opposition Leader, Sam Basil, accompanied by Lae MP, Loujaya Kouza, presented the Vote of No Confidence file to the Parliamentary Speaker, Theo Zurenuoc.

Deputy Speaker, Aide Ganasi, witnessed the presentation.

After handing over the files, Basil told journalists that the motion will be tabled in parliament later this week.

“We hope that this should be exercised,” Basil said.

14 MPs have signed the motion including two (Sir Michael Somare and Ken Fairweather) from the government bench.

Rabaul MP, Dr. Allan Marat, said the motion will go through parliamentary process and they expect it to be tabled on the floor of parliament this week.

“This is the only way the Prime Minister can be changed on the floor of parliament.

“So allow the Motion of No Confidence to go through the parliament,” Dr. Marat said.

This is the fourth time the motion will go to the floor of parliament.

The first and second attempts were during the October and November sittings last year.

The third attempt was unsuccessful earlier this year.

Related posts

European politicians call for new sanctions on Russia over Ukraine


Fire at Vision City Compound

EMTV Online

Lessons from Timor-Leste

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!