25 C
Port Moresby
January 22, 2021
Featured FIFA U20WWC Sport

FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Winner’s Trophy Unveiled

Share the News

The FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup winners trophy, was officially unveiled in a small ceremony at the Stanley Hotel in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea.

Minister for Sport, Justin Tkatchenko, was joined by OFC President, David Chung, and FIFA Head of Womens Football, Tatjana Haenni.

The 16 teams that will arrive in November, 2016, will be competing for the coveted title of Champions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup PNG 2016, as well as the prestigious trophy that goes with the title.

This trophy is special for Papua New Guinea as it has “FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Papua New Guinea 2016” engraved on the small metal plate on the trophy. That trophy will be kept by this tournament’s winner and be displayed in their country for many years to come.

In a ceremony this afternoon, the revelation of the foot high silver trophy, was witnessed by a delegation from the FIFA headquarters, as well OFC President, David Chung.

An excited Minister for Sport, Justin Tkatchenko, reiterated the magnitude of the event, and the importance that the tournament would have in promoting Papua New Guinea.

Head of Women’s Football, Tatjana Haenni, says, the Women’s Under 20 world cup is more than just a tournament.

The Trophy will be presented to the winner of the world Cup on December 3, 2016.


Related posts

West New Britain – Raunim PNG 2015 | Oil Search Pacific Games Relay

EMTV Online

Nelson Stone on the Olympic Experience

EMTV Online

Both Prime Minister’s discuss positive bilateral relations between Australia and PNG

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!