Fee Free Tuition: Funds Released

Treasury today released a warrant for the payout of K200 million under the Fee Free Tuition policy.

Education Secretary, Dr. Michael Tapo, this afternoon told EM TV that 8,419 schools will have their accounts credited before the end of the week.


More than 5 thousand schools will be missing out on the first payout.


However, Dr.Tapo says the department is working with the banks and the provinces to establish the reasons behind these schools missing out.


The three commercial banks, BSP, Westpac and ANZ, will be instructed by the education department to credit 8,419 accounts.


This comes after the education department received notice that treasury has released a warrant for the release of K200 million.


According to their records, there are 13,600 registered schools that are supposed to benefit from the Fee Free Tuition policy.


The department is now working on establishing why these numbers of schools are missing out, and whether some are still eligible to receive funding.


Under the Fee Free Tuition policy, Enga province has a special arrangement with the Education Department.


It will receive K10 million in this roll out, and then disburse to all schools in the province; to ensure that there is accountability.


Dr. Tapo also warned schools throughout the country to take note of the cut-off for project fees that they should be charging.


Schools that charge more than K200 for project fees will be held accountable.


The Secretary called on each Provincial Education Board to ensure that all details regarding teachers should be up to date.


This is to minimize teachers missing out on getting paid in the first weeks of the year.

Related posts

PNG Power to Continue Disconnecting Homes on Illegal Lines

EMTV Online

Neglected Waste Continues

EMTV Online

POM Softball: Raskals Win Grand Finals

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!