Djorne Fong Retains Men?s Snooker Title for Eighth Consecutive Year


By Skola Sengi – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

Djorne Fong has retained his PNG Men’s Snooker Title for the eighth consecutive year, defeating Marcus Ng in yesterday afternoon’s nail biting final.

Fong beat Ng five frames to four, in the best of nine frames match to retain the title. 

It became a family affair in his run towards the final for Fong, meeting his uncle, Peter, and cousin, Nathan prior to progressing for his showdown with Ng.

The title seemed to be up for grabs at many stages throughout the final, with both players showing glimpses of the form that got them to the pointy end of the competition.

Ng took out the first frame, 68-55, before Fong came back to take the second frame 58-38.

By the eighth frame, Ng looked as though he might take home the title, but Fong bounced back to square the ledger at four frames a piece heading into the ninth and final frame.

Minor errors on the table by Ng ultimately saw Fong capitalise and hold on to the title for the eighth consecutive year.

In the plate play-off, Danny Earles defeated Larsak Joseph, 2-1.

Alotau’s Chris So’onway was awarded the Best Outstation Player, and Derek Bray from Port Moresby was awarded the Most Outstanding Player of the Year.

Related posts

St Josephs International School Hosts Rugby Festival

EMTV Online

Koboni’s Snatch Title

EMTV Online

Concerns Raised Over Parking Space for Pacific Games

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!