Dates Set For Oceania Cup in Port Moresby

by Lorraine Genia – EM TV Sports, Port Moresby

Oceania Rugby and the PNG Rugby Football Union have announced the tournament dates for the 2015 Oceania Cup.

Solomon Islands, Tahiti, and American Samoa are among the four nations to compete alongside Papua New Guinea from the 22nd to the 30th of August at the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium in Konedobu, Port Moresby.

Solomon Islands will take on cup debutants, American Samoa, while Papua New Guinea will face Tahiti on Saturday the 22nd of August. 

Pukpuks coach, Sydney Wesley, has confirmed an extended 32 man squad, which is to be trimmed down and finalised in the weeks leading into the tournament.

Of the 32 men in the squad, five are Brisbane based.

Richard Aitsi, Bradley Kelegai, Zion Reto, Nigel Genia and Rabbie Namaliu Junior will be looking to add their experience from playing premier rugby in Brisbane.

The Kautu brothers, Jacky Marcus, James Lumaris alongside Sevens stars Wesley Vali and Butler Moris will feature in this year’s 15s team, to add a bit of pace out wide.

The Pukpuks will take on Tahiti on Saturday 22nd August, and American Samoa in Game 2 on Wednesday the 26th of August, and Solomon Islands in their final game on Sunday 30th August.

Related posts

SHP Police Manpower and Resources Increased Through ‘Modernisation Program’

EMTV Online

EHP Governor Wants Corrupt Health Dept Officials Prosecuted

Lucy Kopana

Oil Search seeking beneficial outcome with PPL for 40MW PNG Biomass and Solar Farm

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!