23.7 C
Port Moresby
October 27, 2021
News Sport

Board of Directors for Stadium Upgrading

The signing ofthe Trustee Beard of Directors for the upgrading ofthe Sir Hubert Murray Stadium took place on Friday.

The six member Beard of Directors was announced atthe Ela Beach Hotel.

The Trustee Beard of Directors for the renovation ofthe Sir Hubert Murray Stadium was announced bythe Minister for Sport at a media conference on Friday.

The Beard of Directors consists of Chairman Sir Michael Curtain, NCD Governor Powes Parkop, Costas Costantinou, Ovia Oala-Rarua, Bebani Maraga, William Skate Junior anPNG Sport Foundation Acting Chief Executive Officer, Peter Tsiamalili.

The completion ofthe brand new stadium is scheduled for March 2015.

The stadium is anticipated to be multi-purpose to cater for various sports.

The stadium was used for playing football and not particularly suited to any large events. It was more comparable to a regional sporting facility than one of any national significance.

At this point it is yet to be confirmed bythe Pacific Games Authority which events will be hosted atthe venue comethe Pacific Games in July 2015.

The stadium was built in 1969 whePNG first hostedthe South Pacific games.


Related posts

Strengthening Australia-Papua New Guinea Ties

Meriba Tulo

PNG Power Suffered Damage; Restoration Work Begins

Joanita Nonwo

PNG’s kickboxing world titleholder Rickson ‘Powerhouse’ Yamo attacked and beaten by group of men

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!