ANALYSIS: The Vote and its polarising effect

Prime Minister Peter O’Neill has always stated that he remains committed to focusing on the key issues affecting Papua New Guinea’s development. Over the last 24 hours, 10 members of his coalition have gone public in their resignations. It began with Tari-Pori MP James Marape resigning as Finance Minister. Then, a week later, Esa’ala MP Davis Steven resigned as Justice Minister. Those two created the hairline fracture that eventually cascaded into a wider crack as four Governors, Phillip Undialu, (Hela), William Powi (SHP), Sir Peter Ipatas (Enga), William Tongamp (Jiwaka) and Open MP Manase Makiba (Koroba-Kopiago), tendered their resignations simultaneously.

Read more