27 C
Port Moresby
July 14, 2020

ABG General Elections: Four Members Will Not Defend Their Seats

By Fabian Hakalits – EM TV, Buka

Four members of the Bougainville House of Representatives will not defend their seats, in this year’s third Autonomous Bougainville Government General Election.

This is because those who occupied them are contesting other seats or due to personal reasons.

According to information from the Bougainville Electoral Commission, the four members are:

Nissan Constituency member, Leo Hannett;

Kokoda Constituency member, Joseph Bausina;

Central Bougainville former Combatants representative, David Sisito; and,

South Bougainville former combatants’ representative, Michael Laita.

Two combatants’ representatives decided to contest their constituency seats, Sisito South Nasioi and Laita for Makis.

Mr Bausina’s reasons not defending his seat is unknown.

Former National Parliamentarian, Leo Hannett, is believed to exit due to health reasons.

Meantime, the fifth seat currently vacant is Bolave constituency, Bana South Bougainville, following death of member, Late Lawrence Wakai early this year.


Related posts

Signs of real recovery as big money shows interest in large resource projects

Business Advantage PNG

Maprik MP Pushes for Better Infrastructure to Build Central Sepik

Jack Lapauve Jnr.

Radio Presenters Told to be Responsible

Lillian Keneqa
error: Content is protected !!