Appointees Receive Logohu Awards

By Vanessa Knight – EM TV News, Port Moresby

Sixty-three out of 127 appointees on the 2015 Independence Honours list received their Logohu Awards in a small ceremony held yesterday afternoon at Government House.

The event is held annually by recognition of the Queen of England, to commemorate outstanding services to the community and country by individuals.

Those awarded the highest honours as the Grand Companions of the Order were not in attendance to receive their awards.

These four are His Royal Highness Duke of York Prince Andrew for his strong support of the role of PNG in the Commonwealth of Nations, particularly during the Pacific Games, and The Honorable John Howard for his contribution to the development of the PNG-Australia relationship during his term as Australia’s longest serving Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Dr Sailele Malielegaoi for distinguished leadership of the Pacific Region during his term as Samoa Prime Minister and, Sir Henry ToRobert for exceptional leadership of the financial sector as the longest serving Governor of the Bank of PNG.

Next in order, six people were appointed as companions of the Star of Melanesia. Among them and the only one in attendance wass Colleen Fay Neville for over 60 years of service to the community.

Four were appointed as officers of the order of the Logohu, including PNG’s super-swimmer Ryan Pini, who was recognised for his achievements and contribution to the country through Sport.

20 more individuals were awarded as members of the order of the Logohu while more received medals for their distinguished contributions to the medical, military, police, public and community service.

Related posts

Paiyam Hospital Aided

EMTV Online

New detention centre to be built in Port Moresby

EMTV Online


Thomas Huliambari

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!