23 C
Port Moresby
January 26, 2021
Football Sport

2016 OFC U-20 Championship starts tomorrow in Vanuatu

Share the News

The 2016 OFC U-20 Championship Group A starts tomorrow in Port Vila, Vanuatu.

Papua New Guinea and New Caledonia will kick-off the group A action at noon, while host Vanuatu will lock horns with defending champions Fiji at 3pm (local time-Vanutau).

The winner of the two crossover semi-finals will earn a ticket to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017.

In group B Tahiti, Solomon Islands, Cook Islands and hot favourites New Zealand, who for the first time since 2013 will make their return to the Oceania U-20.

All four are aiming for a coveted spot in the semi-finals, and for the first time in the competition’s 21 editions, the top two teams in this eight nation event will qualify directly for the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Related posts

Cole Focused On Process Of Improvement

Adelaide Sirox Kari

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Papua New Guinea 2016: Quarterfinals

Adelaide Sirox Kari

NZ Athlete Withdraws From Games Over ‘Inappropriate’ Instagram Posts

EMTV Online
error: Content is protected !!