News Sport

2013 Digicel Cup Finals Format Released

PNG National Rugby League board has releasedthe finals format for the 2013 Digicel Cup final playoffs.

This weekend will withnessthe final round ofthe competition beforethe top 5 teams battle it out inthe finals.


The Semi-professional rugby league competition Digicel Cup, is winding down with only a round to go before top teams battling it out inthe final playoffs.


Goroka Bentangor Lahanis beat PRK Mendi Muruks last weekend to snatchthe Minor Premiership.


Port Moresby Vipers’ win over Mt Hagen Eagles has pushedthem intothe top five and this weekend’s match is paramount for them to clinch to a spot inthe final playoffs.


ThPNGNRL Beard met last weekend and has releasedthe finals format.  There is a slight change wherethe quarter finals will be played atthe venue ofthe higher ranked team. 


The Second placed team will take on third, andthe fourth will go up againstthe fifth atthe home ground ofthe team that is placed second and fourth respectively.  


Goroka Lahanis will hostthe winner ofthe second and third playoff while Lloyd Robson oval in Port Moresby will hostthe semi-final, preliminary final and grand final.


This weekend’s matches will determinethe final 5 placements based upon competition points. However, teams equal on competition points willthen be determined by most number of wins or on point’s difference.

Related posts

New Seismic Stations Established to Detect Early Warnings

EMTV Online

NSW Done and Dusted

Shane Saroya

Erima Primary School Celebrate Mini Olympic Sports Day

EMTV Online

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!