International News Pacific

14 Vanuatu MPs Sentenced to Jail for Corruption

Fourteen of Vanuatu’s parliamentarians were sentenced to prison today by Justice Mary Sey of the Supreme Court in the capital, Port Vila.

The 14 MPs included Deputy Prime Minister, Moana Carcasses; Speaker, Marcellino Pipite, Minister for Finance, Willie Jimmy and former Prime Minister, Serge Vohor. All were found guilty of receiving and giving corrupt payments in 2014.

The convicted MP and Speaker of Parliament Marcellino Pipite Photo: Hilaire Bule

The men were convicted of bribery charges one week ago. Most of the MPs were given three-year jail terms with the presiding judge taking into consideration their ages and health.

The Speaker of Parliament, Marcellino Pipite, and the former PM were sentenced to three years in jail; Deputy PM Carcasses received the longest sentence of four years which will commence immediately.

The Minister for Finance was the only MP to have pleaded guilty to the charges and received a 20 months jail term suspended for two years.

Moana Carcasses Kalosil Photo: RNZI

Related posts

PNG and New Caledonia Draw on Day 2 of OFC Nations Cup in Port Moresby

EMTV Online

Zika Virus Raises Health Risk Alarm in the Pacific

EMTV Online

Leonardo DiCaprio lunches in Edinburgh to support the homeless


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!